north/south campus

I’ve been on campus for a little over two weeks and can clearly see the North/South campus divide. I think that anyone who tries to deny the fact that there are two different cultures on our campus would be kidding themselves, and I think that a lot of it has to do with the stereotypes that Professor Vesna spoke of on Friday. The fact of the matter is that we’ve all probably given into the generalizations about those who study art or the humanities and those who study the sciences at one point or another. And, simultaneously, I think part of the divide comes from the fact that people are proud of their fields of study—you can see this from the “North Campus” t-shirts I’ve seen people wearing around campus.
The campus is divided, both in the sense that the math-science classes are on the south campus, and the humanities classes tend to be north campus classes, and because so many majors have so many required courses that students find it hard to take classes outside of their specific field of study. So, in turn students wind up spending most of their time on one side of the campus, rarely traveling to the other side—thus they tend to associate more so with students studying similar fields and ultimately you get the divided campus that I think we have today.
Yet, for some of us, myself included, the divide is easily crossed. In high school, I took all AP humanities classes, because I love them, and find art to be one of my favorite hobbies. However, I am a pre-med major because science is also one of my passions, and cannot wait to get into the field of medicine. Which in part, is why I’m, in this class. If I were asked to list my interests, the top two would be science and art. Which may interest you because I incorporate little bits of science into my art, which I would love for you to see (and feel free to give feed back- both positive and negative) because it really does incorporate a little bit of science in it.
The thing UCLA students need to focus on is how connected both subject areas really are—and how much south campus students can learn from north campus students and vise versa. If students continue to stick to their respected sides of the campus, they will graduate very well versed in one area, but unaware of so many things the other side has to offer, which in turn may make them less interesting individuals in the long run. Ultimately I would love to see UCLA students dare to take classes outside of their major, to expand their horizon and general knowledge.
http://www.myspace.com/danaharrisart
http://www.dailybruin.ucla.edu/archives/id/36024/

Leave a Reply

