North vs. South Stereotypes – Carlos Chorro

Right off the bat incoming UCLA freshmen are introduced to the north and south campus geographic division. It’s just easier to think of it that way. But with this separation of campuses comes judgment and stereotypes, stemming solely from passion for learning different subjects. My college life so far is revolved about different areas, experiences and cultures coming together and exposing and understanding different lifestyles and attitudes: Nor Cal vs. So Cal, Greek life vs. Non Greek life, On-campus housing vs. Off-Campus housing and now North campus vs. South Campus in correlation with Scientists vs. Artists. I have experienced all of the above first hand and I must say I can’t help but think some of the stereotypes Professor Vesna mentioned in class are seen here at UCLA constantly but who can blame me?

Last year, my Hedrick roommate, who continues to be my roommate this year in the apartments, spent one night a week writing 10 page papers and reading articles. My work consisted of 20 math physics and computer science problems a week for which I had to do everyday throughout the week. This being my first writing assignment ever in college I find myself struggling coming up with the right words and spending way more time then my roommate ever would writing this amount. As I sit in front of my computer contemplating what I have to study after writing this, Math or physics, he sits on the couch blaring loud music and playing video games with his north campus friends. With all this distraction aside I still manage even though I have an 8 am class tomorrow morning.

I find the stereotype of north campus being easier then south campus easy to point out but I definitely do not necessarily find it true. I know writing essays under pressure would be equivalent if not harder to my two midterms and final every quarter. Pick your poison.

Another stereotype mentioned in class that is present in my everyday life is the issue of gender. My math and physics classes are dominated with males with the occasional female sprinkled in.

The point is, stereotypes aside, Scientists and Artists are all individuals and shouldn’t be looked at any other way. Even though the separation causes rivalries and stereotypes the fact of the matter is, down the line we will all have to work together at some point. Society is always changing and this separation is slowing it down:

“Stereotypes and technical differences aside, it’s easy to forget in the campus’ polarized atmospheres that society today depends on merging liberal arts ideas and the sciences to thrive.”*

Why can’t we work together and aim perfect more then one subject at the same time? Is that too hard in this day and age? Does striving to know both take away from the perfection and mastering of both? I believe we must be going in that direction because one person can only go so far. Maybe we are on our way to a third culture but who knows? Once we ignore the stereotypes and learn to combine forces I believe the third culture is attainable. But that’s only the first step. Can we make it?

* http://www.dailybruin.ucla.edu/archives/id/36024/

Leave a Reply

