Math Rock/Golden Ratio – Adam Molinaro

When I left the first lecture of this week knowing that there was going to be a drummer coming to class I had no idea what I was in for. I’m actually listening to this guy’s cd right now, Yoshida (copied that out of itunes). It wasn’t really on purpose that I even wanted to listen to it right now, because I tossed in a couple bucks on one of his cds with my friend Quique after class and it just randomly started playing because I was listening to ‘my recently added’ playlist). I’ve been listening to this cd for like an hour before I sat down to the write this, and this music really isn’t the ideal music that I would ordinarily write say a research paper to (but I thought it would be interesting to continue listening to math rock as I wrote this). I’d like to throw out some of my interpretations of the music as I listen to it. Math rock to me is like watching a clip of something like the food network (except with tivo and your fast forwarding and rewinding while shuffling the various speeds of the tivo’s fast forward, rewind and the slow mo .. something like watching the timelapsed videos in planet earth) of course you cant actually watch math rock but that’s my best analogy that I could come up with for how the sounds make me feel as I’m listening to it. I don’t have a strong enough music background to really analyze math rock, so I looked it up on wikipedia and can make sense of how they discuss the changing of time signatures of math rock opposed to other rock bands. This music is kind of intense. About an hour ago I was walking down bruin walk with math rock blaring out of my ipod and to be one hundred percent honest it kind of tripped me out. This cd almost alters time in my head when listening to it for a while its kind of weird. Nonetheless, math rock, both on this cd and listening to it in class, sounds extremely precise yet really random and eerie, which makes it pretty amazing to hear. Being able to see it performed live in class with Yoshida gave me a great appreciation for the talent that these artists have.

I thought the topic of the golden ration covered in Monday’s lecture was very interesting. To me it is mind boggling that ancient mathematicians/artists were able to understand this ratio 2400+ years ago. I found it particularly interesting how the golden ratio is found in nature. I took a math class where a teacher made reference to the ratio with television formats. Back in the day, old fashioned tv sets were made in the 4:3 letterbox format (you know the ‘squarish’ shape that you had until you bought that vizio). Pretty much everyone now a days flat screen tv’s and computer displays which are in the widescreen (16:9) format. The widescreen format, which is approximately the golden ratio, in my opinion (and apparently everyone whose buying tv’s) looks better than the old letterbox format. I googled ‘the golden ration with tv’s and stumbled across this article about the ipod which I thought was pretty tight. http://www.deltaflow.com/?p=199. hmmmm maybe thats why every singleperson in the universe had to go out and buy an ipod (maybe two if yours was stolen like mine) Apple is truely genius.

Leave a Reply

