Math Rock And Fractals Week 2- Carlos Chorro

I found the math rock section to the most fascinating and intriguing. I usually listen to rap, hip-hop and music that as Gil would call “body music” not “mind”. Originally, I was drawn to math rock because I thought math rock was actually rock that involved mathematical influences like the Tool song shown in class. Even though math rock doesn’t necessarily mean rock that uses math I still thoroughly enjoyed the Yoshida’s performance on Wednesday. I liked it so much I actually bought the CD, which surprised me more then anyone because I think I have maybe 5 rock songs in my I-tunes library. My younger brother plays the drums so I thought buying the CD and sending it to him would be inspiring and would open some new doors musically for him.

Not only did the performance blow me away it inspired me to look into music of my own. As a child I took piano lessons and could read sheet music but I lost all musical talent in high school, picking up sports and math instead. Math rock made me realize the big picture in music or the endless possibilities music allows so to speak. I now understand the great impact music can have on someone besides making one dance. My friend is a dance major and she did not understand the concept of math rock. Upon seeing a video of Yoshida I found on youtube she was immediately jealous that I got to see him in person. The great thing about this genre of music is the words used to describe the feelings before and after. My dance major friend Kelsey describes the music as frantic, crazy, psychotic, and frenzied. But, the fact that Yoshida said that there is no meaning behind his music and no words tells me he plays for the raw sound and feel of the intense rhythm. I believe it was more of an excited way of playing and more angst and feeling of relief and musical freedom.

I also found the math in art lecture very captivating. I took a particular liking to the fractals and spirals talked about in lecture and I found a particular fractal made by Lyapunov. 

This fractal is generated in the same way as the one created by Mandelbrot. They are called Escape-time fractals. The algorithm is a bit complicated but I find it amazing how something graphed mathematically can be so artistic. It is still very new to me that numbers and symbols can create such beautiful images. There’s no telling where these images can stop. Knowing almost the full extent of countless equations in math I know pretty much anything can be achieved artistically. I just hope one day I can use my knowledge in math to create something as mind blowing and sophisticated as math rock or fractals. In the end these concepts and images keep me thinking and leave me utterly lost and almost scared in the endless realm of math and art.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lyapunov_fractal

Leave a Reply

