Math rock, golden ratio and fractals

I really must say, Yoshida’s performance on Wednesday was so exuberant. I definitely was not expecting to experience something so intense that early in the morning, but I was sincerely blown away by his talent. At first, I supposed I was in a state of shock of how fast pace and precise each beat was, but a few minutes into the set, I could feel myself really enjoying the unpredictable nature of the music. Just like how any genre of music evolves throughout the years, the Ruins’ music has really been through adjustments and now that I’ve seen Yoshida make great music on his own, as well as his upcoming collaborations, I wonder how Math Rock will grow within the next decade.

Since Monday was my first lecture [I enrolled late], I really didn’t know what to expect from this class except maybe some cool facts about art and some of the stuff that contributes to it. I’m declared an applied math major but have been doubting it for some time now and for this weeks’ lectures to incorporate so much math kind of made me remember why I enjoyed it in the first place. I had never really understood what the Golden Ratio was, so to learn about it was pretty fascinating, especially how applicable it is to so many things in nature and how many artists gain so much more perspective from it for their work. After browsing the web for some more about the divine proportion, this site http://math.rice.edu/~lanius/Geom/golden.html is pretty neat because you can plug in measurements of everyday things and see how ‘pleasing’ the object is to the eye based on the golden ratio.

Fractals also caught my eye during lecture, especially how it began as a plotting method for math and later became a way to create unique art forms. I also attempted to draw a tree fractal for our section assignment, that turned out better than my regular doodle’d trees. I learned that drawing something that involves fractals, whether it be a tree root or a snowflake, is as simple as following a formula where you draw the same pattern in smaller and smaller parts. I really like this example of a fractal that looks like earth, but is simply a fractal generated landscape wrapped around a sphere planet fractal It sort of makes me wonder to what extent fractals relate to our planet, or even beyond that throughout our universe.

Leave a Reply

