The Golden Ratio & Math Rock-Van Huynh

Professor Vesna’s lecture discussing the golden ratio intrigued me. I have never understood what exactly it was or why it was used until it was mentioned. I understand that the golden ratio, approximately equal to 1.6180339887 is found in nature in which people believe is the measurement of things found that are divine, especially pleasing to the eye, or simply “beautiful.” Through browsing the web, I found and discovered that the golden ratio can be found in architecture, the human body, nature, animals, and practical things we use today.

tvarchitectureperson

http://www.intmath.com/Numbers/mathOfBeauty.php

In the article noted above, the author generalizes that people happen to be more attractive ad believe beauty is in “symmetrical and proportional” people and things, like Jessica Simpson. However, this observation is clearly an assumption of people today. In my opinion, I do not believe Jessica Simpson is beautiful due to the impression I have of her, superficial, ditsy, and absurd remarks. This defies the underlying interest of the golden ratio. I believe that beauty is skin-deep, where I find it in one’s personalities, strengths, and actions.

When I heard that Yoshida would be coming to perform for us on Wednesday, I was skeptical. I was wondering what exactly is math rock? Do bands just play guitar and sing about mathematical formulas? However, Yoshida’s performance amazed me. It really opened my eyes. I noticed the passion in Yoshida’s performance through the intense rhythms, and precise structure of the music, overall. I finally understood why it was called math rock. It was not because it consisted of lyrics relating to actual mathematics, but the music, itself, is so intricate and precise, using different time signatures from the norm, creating this new music. It was an exotic and trippy sound giving me this exotic feeling that I was in a circus house. I was urged to start a mosh pit in the room, but considering the size of the room, chairs, and people, I sat there in a sort of trance, listening to in the drumming, guitar playing, and emotional vibe Yoshida gave off. Having experienced this new type of music for myself really gave me a new appreciation for different music I have not heard of. I’ve learned that music isn’t in the glam, the sensual and sexual feelings, the conformity, but is about the actual made created by the musician, the artist.

During the session discussion, we were taught by T.A.’s John and Lis about fractals. This interested me because I have a fascination for intricate shapes and patterns. It urged me to browse the internet for some more examples and here are the few I came across and extremely liked:
fractal

Leave a Reply

