Midterm Presentations – Adam Molinaro

First and foremost, I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed watching everyone’s presentations this last week. I thought that they were very entertaining, enthusiastic, informing and fun to say the least. I especially wanted to give a little shout out to the guy (sorry forgot your name but I talked to you the class before the midterm about the project) that started off by yelling “WOOOOOO!” into the mic right before he started. That was tight.

Anyways, I thought I’d talk about a few of the presentations that I liked. The first one that I really liked was the “perspective house” I thought that the idea really reminded me of the movies Honey I Shrunk the Kids. The actual application of this idea would be pretty neat to see. I think they also had something like this in Disneyland’s ToonTown.

Another presentation that I liked was the one on obesity. I thought the whole idea was pretty funny on how the presentation just talked about people being fat and obese. Having the pictures of fat people flash across the screen and putting on fat suits to exercise were pretty sweet ideas. I definitely agree with him that obesity is a problem here in the states, and agree that putting people in fat suits and having them run on treadmills with pictures of fat people would be an affective way to help out this problem. Maybe it could have been integrated into these episodes of true life http://www.mtv.com/ontv/dyn/truelife/episode/episode.jhtml?episodeId=109383

http://www.mtv.com/ontv/dyn/truelife/episode/episode.jhtml?episodeId=79877

or MTV’s fat camp:

http://www.newimagecamp.com/camp-poconos.html

I also liked the presentations with sound. I particularly remember one presentation showing various physics equations relating to sound. When the slide containing these equations was up, I heard the class’s displeasure of seeing these “crazy looking” equations. The funny thing was is that the guy is probably in my physics 1b class because I just took a midterm on all of that stuff. It was cool to see how a class like physics, which I am taking, could be integrated into a class like desma. This is yet another reminder of how the scientific, and mathematic concepts that I am learning to become and Electrical Engineer, can be applied to arts.

Leave a Reply

