Real Anatomy Chart – Adam Molinaro

I thought the lecture that centered around the human body was one of the more intersting lecutres so far. Over the summertime I went up to Oregon for a cousins wedding. I had to kill some time before the flight home so I checked out the Body Worlds exhibit near the airport. Unfortunately, I kind of had to hall bootie with my aunt through the exhibit becasue of sercurity and what not, but I still thought it was amazing to see. I actually kind of forgot all about it until the I saw it in lecture but these pictures on this webite http://www.bodyworldsclasses.design.ucla.edu/Fall07/9-1/.com/en/exhibitions/current_exhibitions.html really dont give, what Gunther Van Hagen has done with actual bodies, any justice. Gunther Von Hagens posin like a cowboy

When I was walking through the exhibit I was prettty amazed. Thinking back on it I was more kind of shocked with what I was seeing than actually appreciating it. I coudn’t believe what I was seeing. I saw the picture of the man holding his skin in one of the other blogs and thats the best way I can describe my first reaction to what I was seeing. Thinking now with the idea of connecting art and technology these pieces art are pretty much the most precise anatomy charts ever created. They are a three dimensional, perfect scale representation of the human body. He’s successfully mapped to extreme precison the way our muscles, thendons and tendons, work with real people. It was pretty amazing to see in person and recomend seeing it to anyone.

I thought I’d research the procces that enabled someone like Gunther Van Hagen to optically capture the actual human flesh without it being altered from decompositon. Its called plastination.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plastination
http://images.google.com/images?q=plastination&hl=en&client=safari&rls=en&um=1&ie=UTF-8&sa=X&oi=images&ct=title.

Here’s what Gunther had to say about it himself.
– “I developed the Plastination technique at the University of Heidelberg’s Institute of Anatomy in 1977, patented it between 1977 and 1982, and have been continually improving the process ever since… I was in the butcher shop in the university town where I was studying, and as I watched the sales woman slice ham, it dawned on me that I ought to be using a meat slicer for cutting kidneys. And so a “rotary blade cutter,” as I called it in the project-appropriation request, became my first Plastination investment… As I watched these bubbles, it hit me: It should be possible to infuse a kidney slice with plastic by saturating it with acetone and placing it under a vacuum; the vacuum would then extract the acetone in the form of bubbles, just as it had extracted air before. I carried out this process more slowly, using three successive silicone baths as a means of preventing a single bath (along with its contents) from curing too quickly. After curing the specimen in a laboratory kiln, I had the first presentable sample of Plastination…

That was on January 10, 1977, the day that I decided to make Plastination the focus of my life.”

Gunther von Hagens
Inventor of Plastination

Leave a Reply

